New Year comes in with something oi a prolessional dash as top class sprinters line up at Meadowbank tor the Athletics Gala.

1986 sees the 116th year oi the race, which used to be known as the ‘Powderhall Sprint’ and was one sure way at proiessionais raising money through the strenuous side-line betting on the runners. Now moved irom the Powderhall dog tracks to Meadowbank, this is a two-day event in which approximately 480 runners will take part. The races are handicapped; the lastest running trom scratch and the Iess-probables being given anything up to (and even over) 25 metres.

Handicaps lor the events were 3 announced in November and the WM 3 mark given to George McNeIll has once again made the legend 01 proiessional sprinting withdraw trom the Carlsberg 110m race. At 39, McNeiil leels that the competition may be too strong

Saturday 21



0 Celtic V Motherwell Parkhead 3pm. 0 Clydebankv Dundee Kilbowie 3pm. 0 Hibernian v Rangers Easter Road 3pm.

0 St Mirren V Hearts Love Street 3pm. FIRST DIVISION

0 Clyde V Alloa Shawfield 3pm. 0 E File V Ayr Uid Bayview Park 3pm. 0 Falkirk v Morton Brockville 3pm.

0 Kilmamock v Dumbarton Rugby Park 3pm.


0 Cowdenbeath v St Johnstone Central Park 3pm.

0 Dueen’s Park v Stenhousemuir Hampden 3pm.

0 Raith Rovers v Stranraer Stark’s Park 3pm.

0 Stirling Albion v Albion Rovers Annfield 3pm.

Saturday 28



0 Clydebank v Celtic Kilbowie 3pm. 0 Hibemlan V St Mirren Easter Road 3pm.

0 Rangers v Hearts Ibrox 3pm. FIRST DIVISION

: o Alloa v Dumbarton Recreation Park


0 Ayr Uld V Fortar Somerset Park 3pm. 0 Hamilton v Kllmamock Douglas Park 3pm.

0 Morton V E File Cappielow 3pm.

0 Partick Thistle v Airdrie Firhill 3pm. SECOND DIVISION

0 Albion Rovers v Berwick Rangers Cliftonhill 3pm.

0 Duniermline vArbroath East End Park 3pm.

0 E Stirlingshire v Stirling Albion Firs Park 3pm.

0 Meadowbank v Cowdenbeath Meadowbank 3pm.

0 Stenhousemulr v Queen at the South OchiIview Park 3pm.

New Year’s Day

(Most clubs will stick to the 3pm


O Alrdrie V Montrose Broomfield 3pm.

0 Hamilton V Forlar Douglas Park 3pm.


O Kelso First race 12.15pm.

ALLOA a wear (*le . . 125.1% "MR mi} SKIN: ......(N; 1W. 3&2 W L “yawn



0 Celtic v Rangers Parkhead 3pm.

0 Hearts V Hibernian Tynecastlc 3pm. 0 Motherwell v Dundee Fir Park 3pm. 0 St Mirren v Clydebank Love Street 2pm.


0 Airdrle v Hamilton Broomfield.

o Clyde v Partick Thistle Shawfield.

o Dumbarton v Morton Boghead.

O E File V Montrose Bayview Park.

0 Falklrk vAIloa BrockviIIe.

o Kilmamock v Ayr Utd Rugby Park. SECOND DIVISION

0 Cowdenbeath v Dunlermiine Central Park.

0 Dueen's Park v Albion Rovers Hampden.

o Stenhousemuirv E Stirlingshire OchiIview Park.

0 Stirling Albion v Raith Rovers Annfield.

Saturday 4



0 Hibernian V Clydebank Easter Road 3pm.

0 Motherwell v Hearts Fir Park 3pm. 0 Rangers v Dundee Ibrox 3pm. FIRST DIVISION

0 Alrdrie V Alloa Broomfield 3pm.

0 Clyde V E File Shawfield 3pm.

0 Falklrkv Ayr Ulil Brockville 3pm. 0 Kllmamock V Fortar Rugby Park 3pm.

0 Partick Thistle v Dumbarton Firhill 3pm.


0 Dueen’s Park v Albion Rovers Hampden. 3pm.

I o Stenhousemuirv Whitehill Weliare

OchiIview Park. 3pm.


0 Floor Vault Competition Bellahouston Sports Centre , Glasgow. 9.30am warm-up; 10.30am start. £1.50.


Monday 16


although it is hard to believe that he doesn’t chance a placing and seems much more likely that he is standing out the way tor young Willie Fraser oi Donnyrigg (pictured), last years sprint winner and trainee oi McNeill. Including all age groups irom 10-year-olds to Veterans, these proiessional sprints attract some ol the linest athletes in the world, the iavourites olten running to Olympic timings. it is well known that George McNeill -the 1970 Centenary sprint winner- is an Olympic class runner but has been excluded irom this level oi competition because oi his lack oi prolessional label. It seems uniortunate that even today such distinct divisions exist between kindred athletes, especially as the iinancial rewards tor amateurs well out-strip those oi proiessional runners. At Meadowbank this year the prize : money amounts to £2,500


O Kelso First race 12.15pm.

Saturday 28

O Ayr First race 12.45pm.

I Thursday 2

i 0 Ayr First race 12.45pm.


O Ayr First race 12.45pm.

Wednesday 8

O Kelso First race 12.15pm.

ICE HOCKEY ? Saturday14

o Ayr Bruins v Peterborough Pirates Ayr Ice Rink. 7pm. £2.

0 Glasgow Dynamos v Solihuil Shawlands Ice Rink. 6pm. £1.50.

! l

! i i I

As the World Championships in Cairo wind up, the Scottish Men’s team return to take part in the Bank oi Scotland Closed Event, starting on 20 Dec. It will be interesting to see the challenge that will go lorward to compete against Chris MacManus in January’s Home Intemationai.

Meanwhile the juniors prepare tor the Scottish Open at the end oi December and with the results at the Junior

o Ayr Bruins v Murrayileld Racers Ayr Ice Rink. 7pm. £2.

Saturday 21

o Murrayileld Racers v Streatham Redskins Murrayfield Ice Rink. 6.30pm. £2.50(£1.50).

0 Fire Flyers v Whitley Bay Warriors Kirkcaldy Ice Rink, Rosslyn Street. 7.15pm. £2.50(£1.50).

Sunday 22

0 Glasgow Dynamos v Dxtord Shawlands Ice Rink. 6pm. £1.50.

0 Ayr Druins v Streatham Redskins Ayr Ice Rink. 7pm. £2.

Saturday 28

0 Glasgow Dynamos v Sheilield Shawlands Ice Rink. 6pm. £1.50.

0 File Flyers v Cleveland Bombers Kirkcaldy Ice Rink. Rosslyn Street. 7.15pm. £2.50(£1.50).

Sunday 29

o Ayr Druins v Dundee Rockets Ayr Ice Rink. 7pm. £2.

Saturday 4

0 Fire Flyers v Glasgow Dynamos Kirkcaldy Ice Rink, Rosslyn Street. 7.15pm. £2.50(£1.50).

Sunday 5

o Murrayileld Racers v Nottingham Panthers Murrayfield Ice Rink. 6.30pm. £1.50.


Saturday 14

o CIS National Championships Wednesday 18

o CIS Senior Fours Scottish Cup League

Saturday 21

o CIS National Championships (Quarter and Semi iinals)

Sunday 22

0 John Morrison League


Dualch still pending it’s anyone's guess who will take the title. Certainly Louise Phillip ol the Edinburgh Sports Club (pictured) looks a very promising prospect. Eighteen year old Louise has already been picked lor the senior lntemational squad to play in January and is currently representing her club in an all-girls team along with Gillian Mllnro and Donna Crulckshanks in this weekend's guaich. (Janet McLean).

The List 13 Dec- 9 Jan 51